Dynatrap® 1 Acre Mosquito & Insect Trap - Black

Reviews for Dynatrap® 1 Acre Mosquito & Insect Trap - Black

Model
DT2000XLPSR
3.5
3.5 out of 5 stars
69%
33 Reviews
5 stars 14 (42%)
4 stars 2 (6%)
3 stars 8 (24%)
2 stars 2 (6%)
1 star 7 (21%)
Sort by
Rating
Newest
Helpfulness
Had mine for a number ...
3
Feb 19, 2024
Had mine for a number of years. About 18 months after purchase bulbs needed replacing. Well after installing new bulbs discovered issue with one was apparently socket/ballast. Out of warranty option to repair would cost about as much as new unit, So I have one operating light. Good at catching moths, June bugs and other flying bugs, But not house flies and can’t say mosquitoes are a total stranger.
Was this review helpful? 0
Response from Admin
Feb 20, 2024
Thank you for sharing this feedback. We're sorry to hear that this happened to your trap. We recommend reseating the bulbs to ensure that they are in correctly. Our traps have a one year replacement policy. Bulbs should be replaced every 4 months for best results.
I prefer this trap over ... zappers
5
Feb 7, 2024
I prefer this trap over the old style zappers, there is no noise, smell or mess from bug carcasses. I also have the 1/2 acre one and it has been going for three years and no problems.
Was this review helpful? 0
Been 6 days in use ...
1
Aug 24, 2023
Been 6 days in use with a attractant. Hardly catches mosquitoes, mostly moths and sweat bees. Plenty of mosquitoes around to catch where i live. You should not advertise it for catching mosquitoes. It just traps mostly harmless bugs. Big waste of money. Don't buy.
Was this review helpful? 0
Response from Admin
Aug 25, 2023
Thank you for this feedback. We're sorry that you are disappointed in the catch results so far. I’m happy to share some bits of information to help your results. Moths and bigger bugs will retain their shape a bit in the trap, while mosquitoes dry up to almost look like pieces of dirt or dust. If you see any specs of this material, then the trap is catching mosquitoes. First, make sure the Dynatrap is 20 to 40 feet away from your outdoor activity area. Determine where the mosquitoes are breeding if possible, as they do breed in wet or moist areas. Possible sources include ponds, standing water, tall grass, bushes, heavily wooded areas, old tree stumps, bird baths, planters, and poorly drained spots in your yard. You should have success if you can remove any standing/stagnant water. Sitting near the trap actually makes it MORE likely that insects will find their way over to you, since they may be getting attracted in by the trap and then finding you close by. Second, other sources of light can reduce the efficiency of the unit as far as attracting things. The more distractions the insects have in your back yard, the less likely they will be drawn to the trap. So if a light must be on, try to move the trap away from it if possible. Third, make sure the trap is 3 to 6 feet off the ground. This ensures that the bugs will be able to see it, and not be covered or shielded by a bush, tree, or chair. Fourth, it is important to keep in mind that our traps work best when installed in an open area with sufficient wind flow. Trees, fences, heavy vegetation, etc. will limit the effectiveness of the trap. Once you put the Dynatrap out, it will take about 3 weeks before it has any impact on the mosquito population, since that’s about how long it takes for mosquito eggs to hatch, and 6 weeks to break the life cycle. You may need to move your trap around to a few places before you find the most effective spot. For the best results, the trap must be left on 24/7.
Could do better
3
Jun 3, 2023
It has lasted with one bulb replacement, and yes cord is too short But as others have stated everything BUT mosquitos. And 2nd year the flaps quit closing. I won't spray as I love the dragonflies, monarchs and bees.
Was this review helpful? 0
We’ve had this plugged in ...
5
May 17, 2023
We’ve had this plugged in for two months and essentially gotten rid of mosquitos. We have a creek and the yard holds a fair amount of moisture. Mosquitos were miserable last year. Glad this actually works.
Was this review helpful? 0
These work when they're working.
3
Apr 25, 2023
These work when they're working. Ordered 3 originally from Costco and all died within a few months. The customer service at Dynatrap was great and sent new ones to replace them, one of those only worked a couple of months and they sent me another. It was replaced by Dynatrap at no charge in Oct 2021. February 2023 noticed a bulb was out, ordered new bulbs and put them in this morning. One of the connections/outlets for the bulb is bad and just had to order a new trap. If only the product would last longer. If this one goes out quickly it will be my last.
Was this review helpful? 0
I have used this unit ...
1
Mar 18, 2023
I have used this unit for over 1 year in my backyard .. I have just as many mosquitoes now as I did before this purchase. This is a hyped up machine that does nothing but suck electricity from your home. Save your money & spray your yard .. you’ll get better results!!
Was this review helpful? 0
Response from Admin
Mar 22, 2023
We are sorry to hear about your experience with this trap! This trap works best when installed in an open area, free of any obstructions such as fences, trees, and other vegetation. We'd like to learn more about the placement and location of your trap. Please give us a call at 877-403-8727 for assistance.
Don't buy... Didn't last two seasons
1
Aug 26, 2022
Well, I had been enjoying this device in my large backyard. It didn't totally irradicate the bugs but made a significant difference. Purchased April 2021 and used throughout summer/early fall 2021 in Southeastern VA. Had to replace the bulb at the start of the 2022 season, but not a major deal. THE DISAPPOINTMENT kicks in July 2022 when the machine completely stops working... fan, bulb, everything... Contacted DynaTrap and they basically said it sounds like an "internal fault" and needs to be replaced, but because it's after April 2022 (1-year warranty) I have to PURCHASE a new one.... which I will NOT be doing... the one I purchased, and spent a nice sum of money on should STILL be working! I wish I had better things to say about it...
Was this review helpful? 0
Response from Admin
Aug 29, 2022
Thank you for your feedback Timothy! We are sorry your trap is no longer running and appreciate the time you have taken to share these comments regarding our warranty policy!
Dynatrap sells junk
1
Aug 9, 2022
Dealt with two unit failures with no more than 3 months of use each time. The bulbs stop working, unless you know how to repair PCB’s, send it to the bin. Dynatrap sent me a replacement unit once, the next time they told me I needed to buy a new unit. They would provide “free shipping”. These products are garbage, don’t waste your time or money.
Was this review helpful? 0
Response from Admin
Aug 15, 2022
We are sorry to hear that you did not see better results. Your feedback is appreciated and has been shared with our Product Manager.
Unit is under eves of ...
3
Aug 7, 2022
Unit is under eves of my garage. Have had it for 3 years and on on April off in October. Just changed the bulbs and doesn't seem to be catching much. We are in a high mosquitoe area here and are lately swarmed when we go out. Lights are on fan is on but very little action.Currently we have about 25 to 30 per square inch of exposed skin. I have also had the yard sprayed with garlic juice every month but not to good a result. Any words of wisdom to help here?? Fred
Was this review helpful? 1

Items 1 to 10 of 33 total

Page
Page
Apply per page
  Canada

Visit Our
Canadian Store

15%OFF